Margery Sachs Award for Environmental Leadership Recipients

The Margery Sachs Award for Environmental Leadership is given in memory of Margery Sachs, one of NYSACC’s original directors, and is conferred on an individual for “Life-long Environmental Concern and Service.”

2014 – Peter Rizzo

For his years of dedication to civic environmental stewardship and generous contributions to the mission of NYSACC. Read more

2013 – Kathleen Mecca

For her role as a community leader and steadfast advocate for environmental justice in the West Side neighborhood of the City of Buffalo, NY. Read more

2012 – Charlie Morrison

For his significant roles in establishing conservation commissions and county environmental management councils in New York State and in the creation of NYSACC and the New York State Association of Environmental Management Councils. Read more

2010 – John Fava

For his contributions to the Town of North Castle, NY, Conservation Board and service on NYSACC’s Board of Directors. Read more

2007 – Maung Htoo

For his dedication as chair of the Town of LaGrange, NY, Conservation Advisory Council and service on NYSACC’s Board of Directors. Read more

2006 – George Melrose

For his leadership as the long-time chair of the Town of Tonawanda, NY, Environmental Commission and Erie County, NY, Environmental Management Council. Read more

2005 – Ann Brandt

For her service as a member of the Town of Woodstock, NY, Environmental Commission; the Ulster County, NY, Environmental Council; and NYSACC’s Board of Directors. Read more

2003 – Simon Skolnik

Chair of the Town of Bedford Conservation Board and the Vice President of NYSACC.  See Fall 2003 Newsletter.

2002 – Lee Hanle Younge

Chair of the Big Flats Environmental Conservation Committee and Chair of the Chemung County Environmental Management Council.  See Fall 2002 Newsletter.

2001 – Joy Squires

Chair of the Town of Huntington Conservation Board and the President of NYSACC.  See Winter 2002 Newsletter.

2000 – Don Duger

Chair of the Town of Elbridge Commission on the Environment and a Director of NYSACC.  See Fall 2000 Newsletter.

1999 – Annette Kaicher

Member of White Plains Conservation Board, Member of the Westchester Environmental Management Council, and Director of NYSACC.  See Fall 1999 Newsletter.

1997 – Elizabeth Sluder

Chair of the North Castle Conservation Board and Chair of the Westchester Environmental Management Council.  See Winter 1998 Newsletter.

1995 – Eve Fertig

Chair of the Alden Environmental Conservation Commission, Founder of the Enchanted Forest Wild Life Sanctuary, and Director of NYSACC.  See Spring 1996 Newsletter.